From the Firehouse to the Fire Floor: Critical Initial Assignments in a High-Rise Firefight

April 8, 2021 at 1 PM EDT / 12 PM CDT / 10 AM PDT / 5 PM GMT

Fighting fires in high-rise buildings is dangerous and labor intensive; thus, incident commanders must have a well-established plan that has been proven through training. This webcast will help you develop a high-rise operations plan based on the size and capabilities of your department.

Firefighter Protective Clothing and Equipment: Exploring the Limits

March 25, 2021 at 1:00 PM EDT / 12:00 PM CDT / 10:00 AM PDT / 5:00 PM GMT

This webcast focuses on the limits of today’s personal protective equipment (PPE). However we will start with a look at data from the 1970s. These studies conducted with the Fire Department of the City of New York and the Boston Fire Department provided the current baseline understanding of the firefighters’ working environment. That baseline will be compared with recent measurements of the firefighters’ environment from the perspective of how the current gear and equipment perform under bench-scale and full-scale test exposures.

Lead from the Front: Fireground Tactics and Leadership

March 26, 2021 at 11:00 AM EDT / 10:00 AM CDT / 8:00 AM PDT / 3:00 PM GMT

Learn tricks of the trade that “slow the fireground down” and help you stay in control to avoid confusion and chaos at incidents. The instructor presents case studies and leadership lessons from his experiences gained in a 36-year career on the Chicago (IL) Fire Department. Modern tactics are compared to traditional tactics from the perspective of what has changed and why.

Photos: Firefighters Respond to Two-Alarm Andover (MA) House Fire

Fire photographer Ken Robishaw shared some images from the scene of a recent house fire in Andover, Massachusetts.